Will Byrne

Will Byrne is entering his fourth season on the Northwestern coaching staff, after joining the Wildcats in the spring of 2016.

In his third season, Byrne coached two All-Big Ten selections in Puck Pentenga and Eva van Agt, who also both were named to NFHCA All-West Region Teams. The Wildcats earned four ranked wins as well.

Byrne guided the Wildcats to one of their most successful seasons in program history in his second year as a coach. Northwestern finished 15-7 and won an NCAA Tournament match for the first time since 1994, defeating Louisville in the first round. Three players earned All-Big Ten Honors and two Wildcats earned All-America selections with Puck Pentenga landing on the third team and Sophia Miller becoming the first selection to the first team since Chelsea Armstrong in 2012.

In his first year on the staff, the Wildcats rattled off an eight-match winning streak including back-to-back wins over No. 4 Penn State and No. 6 Maryland. Isabel Flens capped her career by earning second-team All-America accolades. Three individuals were named All-Big Ten while four were named All-NFHCA West Region.

Byrne joined Northwestern after most recently serving as a volunteer assistant coach at the University of Massachusetts under the direction of former NU assistant Carla Tagliente.

In addition to his experience at UMass, Byrne has worked with a number of clubs and high school programs. He has worked with the Element Athletics club in Greenfield, Massachusetts, the SPark club in Severna Park, Maryland, and the Denver club in Denver, Colorado.

His high school coaching experience includes stints at Amherst Regional High (Amherst, Mass.), Sidwell Friends School (Washington D.C.) and Colorado Academy (Denver, Colo.), helping the latter reach a pair of state finals.

He earned Level 2 coaching accreditation through the US Field Hockey Association in 2010.

Byrne graduated from Colorado State University with degrees in English and music in 2007 before earning his master’s degree in creative writing from American University in 2014.